Currie Cup - Griquas vs Lions on 28 November 2020

November 28, 2020 - The match was played in Kimberley on Saturday 28 November 2020, and kicked off at 16:30 SA Time.

The Lions played with a very strong wind in their favour in the first half, but it was also their first game in three weeks, and they seemed a bit rusty and Griquas took full advantage when Hooker HJ Luus went over for the first Griquas try from a maul after 7 minutes.

Wing Eduan Keyter scored another for the home team in the 22nd minute when Griquas hit left from a ruck close to the Lions try-line and poor defense from Pienaar and Simelane saw Keyter score an easy try.

The Lions scored their first points from a penalty by Elton Jantjies in the 26th minute, this after Griquas went offside in front of their poles.

Griquas then hit back with a converted try by James Verity-Amm, and then the Lions scored from quick ball deep inside the 22 of Griquas when they hit left and Courtnall Skosan went over in the left corner.

Deep into stoppage time Skosan scored another, this time from a scrum 5 metres from the Griquas line, Van den Berg passed to Jantjies who quickly passed to Skosan, who dived over in the corner to make the score at the break 17-13 for the home side.

In the second half the Lions were awarded a penalty try when Griquas collapsed a scrum close to their try-line, and this put the Lions in a 20-17 lead after 45 minutes.

2 minutes later in the 47th minute, the players left the field with lightning making play dangerous, and after 30 minutes the match was abondoned with the score staying as is according to the rules because 40 minutes was played.


Referee: Marius van der Westerhuizen
AR1: Jaco Peyper
AR2: Griffin Colby
TMO: Aimee Barrett-Theron


Griquas: 15 James Verity-Amm, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger (captain), 8 Johan Momsen, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli.
Replacements: (from) 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 John-Roy Jenkinson, 19 Mzwanele Zito, 20 Carl Els, 21 Theo Maree, 22 Andre Swarts, 23 Enver Brandt, 24 Bandisa Ndlovu, 25 Ewan Coetzee, 26 Masixole Banda.

Lions: 15 EW Viljoen, 14 Stean Pienaar, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies (captain), 9 Morné van den Berg, 8 Len Massyn, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Sti Sithole.
Replacements: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Reinhard Nothnagel, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Ross Cronjé, 22 Dan Kriel, 23 Tiaan Swanepoel.


Griquas: 17 (17): Tries: HJ Luus, Eduan Keyter, James Verity-Amm. Conversions: Tinus De Beer. Penalties:

Lions: 20 (13): Tries: Courtnall Skosan (2), Penalty Try. Conversions: Penalties: Elton Janjies.

“Forwards win games, backs decide by how much.”