Forum Home Forum Home > Rugby Competitions > SuperSport Rugby Challenge
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - WP gain experience against EP at DHL Newlands
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The Lions are on a break at the moment, next match probably URC in August/September 2022.

WP gain experience against EP at DHL Newlands

 Post Reply Post Reply
Transvaal View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 30-Mar-2016
Status: Offline
Points: 36219
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Transvaal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: WP gain experience against EP at DHL Newlands
    Posted: 24-May-2019 at 7:57am

DHL Western Province have gained three players with Vodacom Super Rugby experience for their SuperSport Rugby Challenge encounter with Eastern Province at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Centre EW Viljoen, scrumhalf Jano Vermaak and prop Michael Kumbirai all come into the starting line-up for the Cape derby, which kicks off at 12h15 on Saturday as a curtain raiser to the Vodacom Super Rugby match between the DHL Stormers and the Highlanders at DHL Newlands.

Tickets for this game are still available online at, any Computicket outlet and the stadium box office.

Viljoen is joined in the backline by the experienced Vermaak who returns from injury to take the place of the injured Godlen Masimla, while Nico Leonard is on the right wing.

Kumbirai will pack down alongside hooker Schalk Erasmus and prop Kwenzo Blose in an all-new front row, while Ben-Jason Dixon comes in at lock and Chris Massyn is at openside flank in the only other changes up front.

DHL Western Province Head Coach Jerome Paarwater said that his team want to keep building as they target their fifth straight win in the SuperSport Rugby Challenge.

"It is nice to have some experienced players in the mix this week, but we cannot take anything for granted.

"It is another fantastic opportunity for us to play at DHL Newlands and we want to make the most of it on Saturday," he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Craig Barry (captain), 14 Nico Leonard, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Lyle Hendricks, 11 Sihle Njezula, 10 Abner van Reenen, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Chris Massyn, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Ben-Jason Dixon, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Kwenzo Blose.
Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 18 Curtly Thomas, 19 Brandon Valentyn, 20 Deon Carstens, 21 David Brits, 22 Andre Manual.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.039 seconds.